Indian Railways may bring more special trains on tracks


The Railways Ministry has sent a proposal to run more passengers trains to the Ministry of Home Affairs.

Reportedly, sources from the Railway Ministry have revealed that before starting the services of special trains on certain routes, a road map is being made to accommodate the number of passengers, arrangement at the railway stations for thermal screening of passengers etc.

Reportedly, Indian Railways will focus on regular sanitization of the coaches of special trains. In addition, passengers will have to reach 90 minutes before the departure time to board these trains after going through thermal screening and other formalities at the railway stations.

The Advance Reservation Period (ARP) of 120 days shall be applicable for booking these trains, and Tatkal quota can also be used for booking the tickets.

Taking note of the reverse movement of workers from UP/Bihar/West Bengal to Mumbai, Vinod Kumar Yadav, Railway Board chairman, told a leading daily that they are keeping a tab on the occupancy of such trains. In the coming days, they will finalise the list of trains to be run depending on the requirement, COVID-19 cases, occupancy etc.

Meanwhile, the following tentative list of train routes has been prepared, which needs clearance from the Ministry of Home Affairs:

Trains from Delhi

  • New Delhi-Amritsar
  • Old Delhi- Ferozepur
  • Delhi Sarai Rohilla-Porbandar
  • Delhi-Bhagalpur
  • New Delhi-Chandigarh
  • Delhi-Ghazipur City Train to Ballia
  • Jodhpur-Delhi
  • Kamakhya-Delhi
  • Dibrugarh-New Delhi
  • Gorakhpur-Delhi
  • Indore-New Delhi
  • Muzaffarpur-Anand Vihar (go to Old Delhi)
  • Habibganj-New Delhi
  • Lucknow-New Delhi
  • Madhupur-Old Delhi

Trains via Delhi

  • Kota-Dehradun-Nanda Devi
  • Dibrugarh-Amritsar
  • Dibrugarh-Lalgarh
  • Muzaffarpur-Porbandar
  • Yeshwantpur-Bikaner

Taking into account the rise in Coronavirus cases, the Indian Railways has suspended regular train operations till August 12.

Source Article

Next Post

Punjab makes e-registration compulsory for travellers; know how to do it

The government of Punjab has made the process of e-registration compulsory for all travellers to/via the state, from July 6 midnight. The decision has been taken after Capt. Amarinder Singh, CM of Punjab, rejected the relaxation of the 14-day home isolation rule for Punjab-based entrants, considering the risk carried by […]

You May Like