India temporarily bans entry of travellers from 36 countries amid COVID-19 outbreak


India temporarily bans entry of travellers from 36 countries amid COVID-19 outbreak

As per the Indian Home Ministry, travellers from 36 countries will be temporarily banned from entering India, whereas people from 11 countries will be mandatorily quarantined in the wake of COVID-19 outbreak.

The Ministry further mentioned that Overseas Citizens of India (OCI) cardholders, except from those restricted countries, will be required to acquire a fresh visa from the Indian mission to be allowed to enter India. A

Referring to this development, a spokesperson from the Home Ministry stated, “No airline will bring any passenger from Australia, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, The Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, United Kingdom effective 12 GMT March 12 at Port of departure.

Airlines have been barred from bringing travellers from Malaysia, the Philippines, and Afghanistan with effect from March 17 at the port of departure, whereas passengers from Italy have been banned from entering the country from March 18.

India temporarily bans entry of travellers from 36 countries amid COVID-19 outbreak

Foreigners, who are currently in India, can leave the country; however, they can return only after acquiring a fresh visa from the Indian mission. Also, Indians transiting from Korea, China, Italy, France, Iran, and Spain will be quarantined in India. Indians coming from Italy or the Republic of Korea, will need to get their COVID-19 negative certificates.

The spokesperson from the Home Ministry also advised nationals to avoid any non-essential travel to the COVID-19-affected countries.

All those transiting through or coming from the United Arab Emirates, Oman, Qatar, and Kuwait after 12:00 GMT on March 18 will also be quarantined.

The spokesperson mentioned that those bearing travel history to China, the Republic of Korea, Italy, Iran, France, Spain, and Germany on or after February 15 will be quarantined.

Foreigners currently in India will, however, be able to extend their visas, for which they need to approach their jurisdiction office of FRRO/FRO (Foreigners Regional Registration Office) online.

Source Article

Next Post

COVID 19 impact: India Railways cancels 155 trains, loss of INR 450 crore in a week,

Coronavirus has not only hit the aviation industry but is also impacting the Indian Railways. The railways has lost nearly INR 450 crores in a week due to cancellations of trains. The COVID-19 crisis has hit the Indian Railways, which has cancelled 155 trains to contain the virus. According to […]