COVID-19: Several Schengen countries bring back border controls


COVID-19: Several Schengen countries bring back border controls

With the new strains of Coronavirus surging in several countries, the health situation is being assessed in these, including several nations in Europe. As per the latest reports, the current situation has pushed many Schengen Area Member States to bring back internal border controls in a move to prevent COVID-19 cases from being imported from outside.

A number of Schengen nations had earlier imposed border controls in spring 2020, due to the surge of Coronavirus cases all over Europe. The restrictions were later removed when the situations seemed to be under control.

However, as many as nine EU countries have now brought back border controls as the number of COVID cases started peaking. Moreover, health authorities have also advised that the step would be necessary to control the situation.

It has to be noted that the following countries have temporarily reintroduced border controls due to COVID-19, starting February 18, 2021.

COVID-19: Several Schengen countries bring back border controls

Austria (February 8 – February 27, 2021), borders with the Slovak Republic and the Czech Republic.

(February 6 – February 25, 2021), all internal borders.Finland (January 27 – February 25, 2021), all internal borders.

Denmark (November 12, 2020 – May 11, 2021), to be determined but may concern all internal borders.

Germany (February 14 – February 23, 2021), land and air border with the Czech Republic, air border with Austria.

Hungary (January 29 – February 27, 2021), all internal borders.

Norway (February 10 – March 12, 2021), all internal borders.

Portugal (February 10 – February 28, 2021), the internal border with Spain.

Spain (February 10 – February 28, 2021), the land border with Portugal.

Denmark is likely to lift all COVID-related restrictions as soon as the situation improves.

Source Article

Next Post

Goa to host Shigmo festival this year

The state government in Goa has now decided to go ahead with this year’s Shigmo celebrations in the state. However, unlike other times, the celebrations this time will be limited to Panaji, Mapusa, and Ponda. It has been reported that the parades in Panaji and Mapusa will take place on […]

You May Like